Finding “Happy”

Im an over-thinker, I get stressed easily when there’s a lot of big baking/ cake decorating coming up, and I’m really hard on myself when a dessert or cake doesn’t turn out exactly like I pictured it would. Is it still beautiful? Yes.. but I still find that one teeny tiny flaw, and it makes me crazy.

Lately, with all the wedding orders I have coming up, I’ve been having a hard time finding peace in all of this stress. Until this morning.

I walked in to work at 5:20 AM this morning, with only 2 1/2 hours of sleep, feeling exhausted and on the edge of a mental breakdown. I made coffee, put the dishes away, and started on the Stawberry-Rhubarb pie that a customer ordered two days ago.

As soon as I started assembling this pie, it’s like a switch flipped inside of me. I couldn’t stop smiling and I felt so happy and stress-free. I had forgotten how much joy and peace I get from making pies.

Don’t get me wrong, I love decorating cakes, but when I’m making a pie..I don’t notice any flaws. There’s just something about making a pie that brings me peace.

 

Todays Lesson:

When stress starts to manipulate you, it’s time to find “happy”. My “happy” came in the form of making a pie. What’s your form of “happy”?

 

Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie

1/2 pound frozen Stawberries

1/2 pound frozen Rhubarb

1/2 cup Corn Starch

1 1/2 cups Sugar

1 1/2 TBSP Cinnamon

2 cups Water

2 TBSP Vanilla

  1. Mix corn starch, sugar, and cinnamon together and add to a sauce pot.
  2. Add water and vanilla and whisk until incorporated.
  3. Add frozen fruit. Cook on medium heat until mixture starts to thicken.
  4. Line pie tin with your favorite pie crust, add filling, and design a fun top crust.
  5. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes, then cover edges of the pie tin with foil and finish baking pie at 350 until golden brown (approximately 45 min).

strawberry rhubarb pie

2 thoughts on “Finding “Happy”

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑